UEFA reveals how clubs will qualify for next season UCL



The Union of the European Football Association, UEFA, has officially announced that the Champions League qualification for next season will be determined on “sporting merit” if the current season can not be completed due to the spread of Coronavirus around the globe, according to The Times.

The decision was made during UEFA’s crunch meeting on Thursday morning to decide the fate of the season.

Also Read:  UEFA set new strategy to finish UCL & UEL

The decision means the current top four teams in the Premier League, La Liga, Serie A, Bundesliga, and Ligue 1 would qualify for the 2020/20 Champions League.

This means that in the Premier League, Liverpool, Manchester City, Leicester and Chelsea would take four English spots.

UEFA’s decision would see Manchester United (5th) and Wolves (six) take the Europa League places, with Tottenham (8th) and Arsenal (9th) missing out altogether.

Also Read:  Move to Real Madrid could still happen - Pogba says

UEFA had suspended the Champions League, Europa League, and the European Championship play-offs indefinitely due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Also read: Atletico Madrid’s Thomas Partey close to Arsenal move


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here