Biafra: Native Doctor and 66 others arrested by police [Full List]

Biafra: Native Doctor and 66 others arrested by police [Full List]
  1. The Nigeria Police Force (NPF) has detained not less than 67 members of the proscribed Indigenous People of Biafra ( IPOB), including IPOB tribal doctor, in Imo State, southeast Nigeria.

SportWap reports that on 9 August in Orji, Owerri North Local Government Area (LGA), the Imo Police Commissioner, Isaac Akinmoyede, who confirmed the incident, said that the suspects including four women were arrested

Police chief in a police newsletter said the suspects were on their way to consult with Abashieke Egbema’s native doctor, Cyprian Amadi, in Ohaji / Egbema LGA, adding that the suspects may have planned an attack on security agencies.

CP Akinmoyede said: “The group is suspected to be planning an assault on security forces in order to snap weapons.”

According to him, the native doctor had removed bullets from one of the suspects who had gunshot injuries in the past. questions

He said: “It is also noteworthy that the group attacked and snatched two rifles from policemen during a violent protest in 2018, which were later recovered from a kidnap gang in a robbery operation.”

Operatives of the 34 Field Artillery Brigade intercepted the IPOB members at about 09.30 am at Mmahu Egbema checkpoint. The operatives, Akinmoyede said, called for reinforcement from the Divisional Police Headquarters, Egbema, who swiftly mobilised to the scene.

Also Read:  Ogun: Police Kills Wanted Serial Killer - Feyisola Dosunmu

Akinmoyede said: “This organisation has been proscribed by the Federal Government of Nigeria.

“As such, any such gathering by the group is viewed as unlawful. They will be charged to court as soon as investigation is concluded.”

According to the Imo Police Command, the suspects are the 68-year-old native doctor Cyprian Amadi, Wilfred Bassey (21), Fidelis Okedi (31), Obinna Iloka (29), Anyachukwu Okere (47), Emmanuel Obidiaku (32), Obiagwu Tochukwu (38), Onyedikachi Njoku (38), Gerald Amaeshi (28), Ebuka Osuji (20) and Otumbadi John (25).

The others are Amadi Ugochukwu (19), Uche Thadeus (37), Ugochukwu Ohaowe (32), Francis Uwakwe (24), Ikechukwu Uba (37), Ifeanyi Chimezie (20), Ibeajah Alexander (35), Chibuike Nkurum (38), Uche Samuel (30), Nnachi Augustine (30), Chinedu Akuekwe (33), Madu Samuel (35) and Ifeanyi Ahanonu (22).

Also Read:  Rivers State: soldiers beat police to death

Also arrested were Nze Emmanuel (20), Njoku Kosidi (34), Ibe Joshua (20), Nneka Oparaku (34), Ikechukwu Okwu (38), Ikeada Kelechi (45), Okoro Ude (25), Izuchukwu Uzoma (28), Chibuzo Unakalamba (29), Wisdom Mbudu (18), Izuchi Osuji Solomon (18), Mathew Nwachukwu (25), Nnamdi Okara (28), Chukwuma Udechukwu (26) and Donatus Uchenna (25).

The other suspects are Chisogonus Eke (24), Sopuruchi Alanwoke (33), Chekube Asoluka (28), Lienam Olachi (45), Onwuduruba Happiness, Chinedu Unakalamba (34), Chikezie Ihejieto (43), Francisca Nkwocha (50), Peter Metu (24), Raphael Oriaku (33), Ogechi Opara (21), Samson Okoh (30), Okwudili Fidelis (28) and Nnamdi Nwanna (25).

Also read: INEC speaks on Edo state Election suspension


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here