PDP wins all eight seats in the Bayelsa Election


PDP wins all eight seats in the Bayelsa Election

The Democratic People’s Party won all eight districts in the local government election in Bayelsa.

Due to alleged irregularities, the All Progressive Congress did not participate in the election and the election was described by the chairman of the election as peaceful and fair.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won all the eight local government areas of Bayelsa, in the just concluded election organised by the Bayelsa State Independent Electoral Commission (BYSIEC), on Saturday, August 11. The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Bayelsa has eight LGAs, and it won all as the All Progressives Congress (APC), did not partake in the election, because of some alleged irregularities according to them.

The returning officer, Frank Ebikumor, on Sunday in Yenagoa announced that Dengiye Ubarugu of the PDP polled 42,539 votes to defeat ADC, who polled 1,031 votes in Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA. In Southern-Ijaw, the returning officer, Dr Nwiwu Johnson announced that Nigeria Kia of the PDP scored 107,150 to defeat AD, who scored 2,489 votes.

Also Read:  COVID-19: United States sends warning to citizens leaving Nigeria

In Ekeremor LGA, the returning officer, Dr Victor Ayibatonye, announced that Chief Perekeme Petula emerged winner with 62,529 votes, as other parties had no vote. Also, in Sagbama LGA, where Governor Seriake Dickson hails from, the returning officer, Dr ThankGod Apere, announced that Alah Embeleakpo, had 96,468 votes as other parties had no vote.

In Brass LGA, the returning officer, Timothy Ogiaba, announced that Victor Isaiah of the PDP scored 28,667 votes, while LP scored 2,948 votes. Ogbia LGA, Ebiye Ogoli, the returning officer, announced that Turner Ebinyo of the PDP scored 17,661 votes to defeat ADC, who scored 1,017. While in Yenagoa, the returning officer, Dr Good-head Abraham, declared that Uroupaye Nimizuoa of the PDP scored 98,831 votes to defeat Lawrence Kwokwo of ADC, who scored 636 votes. In his remarks, Dr Remember Ogbe, the BYSIEC chairman, said the process was peaceful in all the areas where elections were conducted.

Also Read:  Tambuwal vs Aliyu : Tribunal Decides!

Meanwhile, President Muhammadu Buhari’s campaign coordinator in Zamfara state in the 2019 general elections, Alhaji Bature Sambo, and other top officials of the APC have reportedly left the party.

Sambo and other top APC officials defected on Thursday, August 8, to the PDP in a ceremony in the Gusau Government House.

Others who dropped the APC supposedly included the present president of the board, National Hospital Port Harcourt, Alhaji Muktari Anka Alhaji Abdullahi Mohammed, instant previous youth commissioner Alhaji Ibrahim Ajala, instant previous special advisor, and more than 6,000 other followers of the APC.

Sambo reportedly said he decided to join the PDP because of the performance of Governor Bello Matawalle within a few months of his administration.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here