CRICKET: England to host 2020 international men’s World Test Championship


World Test Championship

The 2020 international men’s World Test Championship will be hosted by England which shall feature West Indies, Australia, Pakistan and Ireland.

As part of the World Test Championship, West Indies and Pakistan both visit for three tests, while Pakistan will also play three Twenty20 internationals.

Australia returns to play three one-day internationals and three T20s in 2020 after the Ashes series this summer.

World Cup winners England will then host Ireland in three ODIs in September.

Read also: England bowler set to miss Ashes 2019 second Test.

The summer’s first international game sees England hosting West Indies in The Oval’s first test, beginning on June 4.

The second Test will be at Edgbaston before the final Test at Lord’s, with Joe Root’s side looking to regain the Wisden Trophy after a 2-1 defeat in the West Indies earlier this year.

Lord’s, Old Trafford and Trent Bridge will host the three Test matches against Pakistan in July and August, with the past two series between the sides in England having been drawn.

With Twenty20 cricket set to be a key focus next year in building up to the October Men’s T20 World Cup, England faces Australia – hosting the tournament – at Chester-le-Street, Old Trafford, and Headingley in July, ahead of three more T20s against Pakistan in August and September.

Also Read:  Premier League: See Everton vs Chelsea line-ups

Read also: Anthony Joshua vs Andy Ruiz Jr rematch date and venue fixed.

England will play their first home ODI since their thrilling World Cup final win over New Zealand against Australia at Lord’s on 11 July, before further matches at Southampton and Bristol.

Eoin Morgan’s side then face Ireland in day-night ODIs at Trent Bridge, Edgbaston and The Oval to end the summer.

All six ODIs against Australia and Ireland will be part of the inaugural World Cup Super League, which serves as part of the qualification process for the 2023 World Cup.

The next competition sees all 12 full International Cricket Council members, and the Netherlands, playing eight of the 12 opponents in a three-match ODI series, with the top seven sides joining hosts India in qualifying for the World Cup.

The remaining five teams join five associate members in a further qualifying tournament for the final two World Cup places.

Also Read:  Bayern new signing,Benjamin Pavard targets Champions League glory

Read also: Weightlifting: Five Russian suspended over alleged doping

Earlier in 2020, England are touring South Africa and will be in Sri Lanka for two Tests in March.

The England men’s international 2020 Championship is scheduled as follows.

*All start times BST


4-8 1st Test v West Indies, The Oval (11:00)

12-16 2nd Test v West Indies, Edgbaston (11:00)

25-29 3rd Test v West Indies, Lord’s (11:00)


1st T20 v Australia, Chester-le-Street (18:30)

2nd T20 v Australia, Old Trafford (17:00)

3rd T20 v Australia, Headingley (18:30)

11 1st ODI v Australia, Lord’s (13:00)

14 2nd ODI v Australia, Southampton (13:00)

16 3rd ODI v Australia, Bristol (13:00)

30-3 Aug 1st Test v Pakistan, Lord’s (11:00)


7-11 2nd Test v Pakistan, Old Trafford (11:00)

20-24 3rd Test v Pakistan, Trent Bridge (11:00)

29 1st T20 v Pakistan, Headingley, (17:00)

31 2nd T20 v Pakistan, Sophia Gardens, Cardiff (14:30)


2 3rd T20, v Pakistan, Ageas Bowl, Southampton (18:30)

10 1st ODI v Ireland, Trent Bridge (12:30)

12 2nd ODI v Ireland, Edgbaston (12:30)

15 3rd ODI v Ireland, The Oval (12:30)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here