IFAB says accidental handball in build-up to a goal is ‘no longer an offence’

0
138

 

An accidental handball that results in a teammate scoring a goal or having a goal-scoring chance will no longer be considered an offence.

An accidental handball that results in a teammate scoring a goal or having a goal-scoring chance will no longer be considered an offence, according to the International Football Association Board (IFAB), the game’s governing body.

The controversial part of the handball law was put to the test during Fulham’s Premier League match against Tottenham on Thursday night, with Josh Maja’s goal being ruled out after the ball cannoned into the hand of his teammate Mario Lemina from a Davinson Sanchez clearance while he was just yards away.

Also Read:  What Messi said after seeing off United in Champions League

An accidental handball that results in a teammate scoring a goal or having a goal-scoring chance will no longer be considered an offence.

And the IFAB has now reached an agreement on a change that will take effect on July 1.

Competitions, on the other hand, have the freedom to make adjustments before that deadline, according to IFAB.

“As the interpretation of handball accidents has not always been clear due to incorrect application of the rules, the members confirmed that not every touch of a player’s hand/arm with the ball is an offence,” according to an IFAB statement.

Also Read:  Atleti have appealed for Costa's red card against Real Madrid to be rescinded

An accidental handball that results in a teammate scoring a goal or having a goal-scoring chance will no longer be considered an offence.

“Accidental handball that results in a teammate scoring a goal or getting a goal-scoring chance will no longer be considered an offence,” the statement continued.

ALSO READ: Everyone-is-fit-i-have-a-feeling-man-united-are-a-better-team-this-season

 

 

 

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here